Real BVA precedentDirectAggravation

Shoulder Condition VA Claim Grants

Real BVA decisions granting service connection for rotator-cuff, impingement, and labral tears.

8,074 BVA decisions indexed · Decisions through Jun 2026

21
Grants in corpus
599
Total on appeal
5
Shown below

Shoulder grants — impingement, rotator-cuff tears, labral tears, AC-joint issues — come up frequently at the Board. In-service rucking, PT, and overhead work are the usual causes. Documented sick-call entries, PT referrals, or MRI orders in STRs drive grants.

Top 5 recent grants

Ranked by decision date. Each card shows verbatim Findings of Fact and Reasons & Bases pulled directly from the Board's published decision — no summarization, no AI rewording.

Citation Nr 26006879GrantedJune 24, 2026Secondary theoryPresumptive theory

Findings of Fact (verbatim from decision)

1. The probative evidence of record is at least in approximate balance as to whether the Veteran's right shoulder disorder onset in-service. 2. The probative evidence of record is at least in approximate balance as to whether the Veteran's OSA is secondary to his service-connected disabilities. 3. The probative evidence of record is at least in approximate balance as to whether the Veteran's kidney disorder is secondary to his service-connected disabilities.

Reasons & Bases (verbatim excerpts from decision)

1. Entitlement to service connection for right shoulder disorder For the following reasons, entitlement to service connection for right shoulder disorder is warranted. […] The November 2025 and February 2025 VA examiners did not fully address the Veteran's contention of right shoulder pain from military job duties and exercise training; in lieu of considering the Veteran's credible accounts and endorsements of on-going severe right shoulder pain, the provider relied on a lack of in-service treatment and lack of chronicity of care in finding that no nexus was established. These examination reports are inadequate because they do not answer the question of whether the claimed right shoulder disorder is related to service. To the extent that the examination reports imply that the disability is due to another cause rather than service, this etiological conclusion (without consideration of the lay evidence or inclusion of a rating) is inadequate. Buchanan, 451 F. 3d at 1336, n. 1 (the VA's clinician's opinion, which relied on the absence of contemporaneous medical evidence, "failed to consider whether the lay statements presented sufficient evidence of the etiology of [the veteran's] disability such that his claim for service connection could be proven without contemporaneous medical evidence").

Suggested citation

Bd. Vet. App. No. 26006879 (June 24, 2026) (order: "Entitlement to service connection for right shoulder disorder is granted.").

Read full decision on va.gov →
Citation Nr 26004529GrantedApr. 14, 2026Secondary theoryDirect theory

Findings of Fact (verbatim from decision)

1. There is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence indicating that residuals of a skin disorder on the right shoulder were incurred in service. 2. There is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence indicating that gout is secondary to service-connected disability.

Reasons & Bases (verbatim excerpts from decision)

Among his claims in February 2014 were service connection claims for gout and a skin disorder on the right shoulder. In the rating decision on appeal the RO denied the claims. Between August 2020 and October 2025, the Board remanded these claims several times, seeking adequate medical commentary regarding whether the disorders were incurred in service. […] Right Shoulder Skin Disorder […] Based on the evidence, a service connection finding is warranted for residuals of a skin disorder on the right shoulder. See 38 C.F.R. § 3.303. The Board has previously found credible the Veteran's report of having a right shoulder skin growth during service in 1969. A right shoulder skin lipoma was noted in September 2001 as a current problem and a right shoulder skin lipoma is noted in a January 2022 VA examination report. Further, a December 2025 VA examiner found credible the Veteran's report of having a skin problem on his right shoulder. The examiner stated that examination did not identify a lipoma on his skin, and that the Veteran was not competent to diagnose himself with a lipoma. The examiner found the Veteran's report of the problem credible, however. See Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (laypersons are competent to describe observable matters).

Suggested citation

Bd. Vet. App. No. 26004529 (Apr. 14, 2026) (order: "Entitlement to service connection for a skin disorder on the right shoulder is granted.").

Read full decision on va.gov →
Citation Nr 26003072GrantedMar. 6, 2026

Findings of Fact (verbatim from decision)

1. Affording the Veteran the benefit of the doubt, the symptoms of her chronic lumbar spine disability onset in service and have continued since. 2. Affording the Veteran the benefit of the doubt, the symptoms of her chronic cervical spine disability onset in service and have continued since. 3. Affording the Veteran the benefit of the doubt, the symptoms of her chronic bilateral shoulder disability onset in service and have continued since.

Reasons & Bases (verbatim excerpts from decision)

Lumbar spine, cervical spine, and bilateral shoulder disabilities […] As previously discussed, all medical nexus opinions of record obtained from VA examiners through the appeal period contain inadequacies which have not been remedied by attempts to remand for adequate opinions. Accordingly, the Board affords minimal, if any, probative value to any VA examiners' nexus opinions which contradict the Veteran's assertions that her chronic lumbar spine, cervical spine, and bilateral shoulder disability symptoms onset in service. In light of the above, the evidence is at least in equipoise as to whether these disabilities are etiologically related to service. Affording the Veteran the benefit of the doubt, the weight of the evidence supports a finding that the Veteran's lumbar spine, cervical spine, and bilateral shoulder disability symptoms onset in service and have continued since then. Accordingly, service connection for lumbar spine, cervical spine, and bilateral shoulder disabilities is warranted, as they are current chronic disabilities that onset in active service.

Suggested citation

Bd. Vet. App. No. 26003072 (Mar. 6, 2026) (order: "Service connection for a bilateral shoulder disability is granted.").

Read full decision on va.gov →
Citation Nr 26003070GrantedMar. 6, 2026Direct theory

Findings of Fact (verbatim from decision)

Resolving reasonable doubt in the Veteran's favor, his right shoulder impingement syndrome developed due to his military service.

Suggested citation

Bd. Vet. App. No. 26003070 (Mar. 6, 2026) (order: "Service connection for right shoulder impingement syndrome is granted.").

Read full decision on va.gov →
Citation Nr 26003004GrantedMar. 5, 2026Secondary theoryDirect theory

Findings of Fact (verbatim from decision)

1. The competent and credible evidence of record persuasively establishes a finding that the lumbar spine disability is related to active-duty service. 2. The competent and credible evidence of record persuasively establishes a finding that the left shoulder disability is related to the service-connected left knee. 3. The competent and credible evidence of record persuasively establishes a finding that the generalized arthritis is related to active-duty service.

Reasons & Bases (verbatim excerpts from decision)

Third, the Board finds that the evidence of record does support a finding that the lumbar spine disability, left shoulder disability, and generalized arthritis are related to active service. […] VA examiners in July 2020, March 2024, and May 2024 opined that as the STRs were silent for any left shoulder complaints, then it was less likely than not that the current left shoulder disability was caused or aggravated by the service-connected knees. […] The Board affords low probative value to each of these opinions. The earlier examiners appear to not understand the concept of secondary service connection, which does not require a direct in-service incident, or injury. The Veteran has asserted that his service-connected left knee caused him to fall, which caused him to injure his shoulder. This satisfies the second element of service connection. The March 2025 examiner did not address this theory of entitlement at all. Generally, a medical opinion should address the appropriate theories of entitlement. Stefl v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 120, 123-24 (2007). As with the lumbar disability, rather than remanding yet again, the Board will afford the Veteran the benefit of the doubt and assign greater probative value to his lay statements. […] A March 2025 examiner provided a negative nexus opinion in which they simply duplicated their left shoulder opinion.

Suggested citation

Bd. Vet. App. No. 26003004 (Mar. 5, 2026) (order: "Entitlement to service connection for a left shoulder disability secondary to the service-connected chondromalacia with degenerative changes of the left knee is granted.").

Read full decision on va.gov →

Get a filed-ready brief on your specific facts — free

The decisions above are the most recent grants — they may not match your specific nexus theory or fact pattern. The NexusVetClaims Precedent Brief runs a semantic search on your exact situation and returns 10 decisions (8 closest analogous matches + 2 instructive contrasts) as a filed-ready PDF with suggested citations and placement guidance for every VA form.

Build my Precedent Brief →

One-time payment. Delivered by email within 60 seconds. Powered by real Board of Veterans' Appeals decisions.

How to use these decisions in your claim

  • ›Dominant vs non-dominant shoulder affects rating thresholds under § 4.71a Code 5201 — confirm the examiner noted this.
  • ›Painful motion under § 4.59 supports a compensable rating even without measured limitation.
  • ›Shoulder + cervical strain pairing is common — don't forget the neck claim.
  • ›BVA decisions are non-precedential under 38 CFR § 20.1303 but the Board and rating officials regularly find recent analogous decisions persuasive — especially when your facts materially match.
  • ›Paste the suggested-citation line into VA Form 21-4138 (Statement in Support of Claim), then attach the full decision PDF as an exhibit.

More BVA grant guides

BVA decisions are public-record Department of Veterans Affairs rulings. Under 38 CFR § 20.1303 they are non-precedential but may be cited as persuasive evidence of how the Board has treated similar facts. NexusVetClaims provides software, not legal representation. This page shows retrieval output from the nexusvetclaims.com BVA corpus and is updated as new decisions are indexed.

Send feedback